Define Success

Good morning peeps,

Here is a great question for you. What do you ultimately dream about doing in life? Often answering this question is a struggle for many of us. We don’t really know what we want to achieve in life and tend to look in strange places for answers.

Many years ago I was working in a business that was geared to helping people with their money. I will never regret or forget that experience because it taught me a lot of things. That said, one day in training we discussed goals – having a goal list written out. The idea was to put a date on all the things that we wanted and a price. At the time I believed that putting a price tag on some of these goals were impossible because they weren’t tangible items. In fact, some of those things were not items at all.

I stick to the goal of meeting Vin Diesel one day because he’s a D&D player. I honestly just want to sit down and play in a game. That is a true story but it’s something that doesn’t have a price tag.. or does it?

A few years later I was doing contract work with my awesome boss Troll. That’s his nickname and it’s not an insult I promise you. He’s actually quite sweet and knowledgeable. Anyways, we had a similar conversation about goals one morning and he said, “Actually if you think about it, that goal does have a price tag.”

What?

Yep. It does. He continued, “In order to meet a celebrity like that, even for something simple like playing a game of D&D, it means you have to have enough money to have the same status. You have to be in the same circles in order to be successful at your goal. And THAT is a price tag you can attach to that dream.” If you want to roll with the big boys, you have to be at the same level as them. I don’t mean that in a literal sense of the boys are the only ones on top, I simply mean that if you want to run with the high rollers, you must become a high roller. Don’t jump down my ass about the phrasing mkay?

As you guys well know by now, I’ve been joining free webinars put on by wealthy people talking about sales, success, mindset, and anything else I can get my hands on. Why? Because I don’t want to keep having to be in situations I’ve been haunted by for years.

sunset-summer-golden-hour-paul-filitchkin

So what does success look like for me?

  1. I publish something successfully. A real something. A book on any topic.
  2. My own place. It doesn’t have to be epic. Just a place to call my own. I’m going to make this happen come hell or high water.
  3. A drivers license and car. Yes, that’s right, I don’t have a license and I love cars. I have a list of high-end cars that I want.
  4. The financial freedom to do things like attend workshops and conferences that are costly. I currently don’t have the money to do any of them but I want to invest in my future. I’m not worried about my current situation, I’m worried about my future.
  5. Finally, the ability to be with my other half. Easier said than done. He’s in the States and it’d be great he could come here or we could travel to a relaxing place.

It doesn’t seem like a lot but these are my smaller successes. Ultimately what I desire is real freedom. The ability to go out when I feel like it and not have to worry about little things.

So what does success look like for you and are you going to go after it? If so, tell the world your intentions. People might not understand your goals but they don’t need to, only you do. That’s all that matters.

Until next time.

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

