How Not to Write

Good evening peeps!

I know that last week I failed to post anything. I got sidetracked and so I just forgot. True story. I’m sorry for that.

This week a couple of things have happened like more editing, a couple new ideas for other books (because I’m not already working on three), and general health things. Not to worry – my teeth were just killing. I’m working on this…

Anyways, over the course of this month of the genre category, my writing group read through The Story Grid by Shawn Coyne. At first, it all made sense. The beginning amused me and I wanted to see where it was going. Then the middle part of the book felt like running through sludge. The ending section somehow made sense. Now here is the fun part. I started to work on doing a Story Grid for Agnus the Beast and discovered a big fail. Agnus gets kidnapped. Twice. By the same character. Back to back scenes. WHOOPS! And then, to make matters worse, the next couple of scenes work off of the second kidnapping instance. But I also liked the first one… Hrm… In other words, Story Gridding, while it can’t specifically solve a writing problem, can show you what is and isn’t working.

So now I get to work myself out of a hole. Good news though! My regular write-in group meets tomorrow so guess what I’ll be doing… Fixing Chapter 3 O.O (It isn’t actually Chapter 3. It’s more like Scene 20 placed in a ‘Chapter form’ by the city that the characters are currently in. It made it easier to edit.) Tomorrow is going to be fun but as they say, there’s no rest for the wicked!

Because of my glorious fail, I decided to title today’s post as “How Not to Write.” Also a second thing happened which provoked today’s title…

Recently, I’ve been catching up on reading and discovered that learning about writing means that I’m analyzing more. For example, in the book I’m currently reading, which I’m not going to mention, there was a paragraph that jumped out at me.

“They did ‘x’. They walked over to ‘y’. They didn’t notice the ‘z’. THEY GOT WHACKED IN THE HEAD.” (Hahahaha. That was fun to imagine just now.)

By the way, that’s not what happened but you get the gist of it… Honestly, the writing is good despite that one paragraph. It’s important to note that no one is perfect. Sometimes we get massive bee stings over silly things like that and it’s unnecessary. I’m not holding the mistake over any heads. What I am saying is that I’m noticing things that I would normally over look. This one just jumped out at me. And one paragraph that slips through the mystical editing cracks is not enough to start stringing up the noose. On a side note, editing is challenging when it’s your own work. There are so many elements that go into a story – theme, character arcs, story arcs, etc… You are the Game Master of your own story – figuratively or not.

One more thing. A couple of months back I wrote an article about Celebrities investing in eSports (and I will write it this way til the day I die damnit! Official ruling or not… This is my blog!) I just found out today that another writer did some research on what these Celebrity investments actually translate into for eSports teams/players. He published his rather lengthy article on a small site I’ve never heard of. I mentioned it to the lovely peeps at EloTalk to see if it’s a story we can follow up on at a later time. Anyways, the best part about this story is that I would never have seen it if my browser didn’t auto-fill the email I was trying to go to. It was fate. Clearly.

Anyways, that’s all I have today peeps! Have an excellent week because the next blog post will be sooner than you think 😀

Until next time.

writing_inspiration-2

Leave a Reply

